Hugo Award Winners

The Hugo Award is given yearly to the best science fiction or fantasy novel published in the previous year. Other catagories include Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Related Work, and many others.

Now open the Hugula Challenge!
Review and win!

2012 Jo Walton

2011 Connie Willis

2010 Paolo Bacigalupi (tie)

2010 China Miéville (tie)

2009 Neil Gaiman

2008 Michael Chabon

2007 Vernor Vinge

2006 Robert Charles Wilson

2005 Susanna Clarke

2004 Lois McMaster Bujold

2003 Robert J. Sawyer

2002 Neil Gaiman

2001 J. K. Rowling

2000 Vernor Vinge

1999 Connie Willis

1998 Joe Haldeman

1997 Kim Stanley Robinson

1996 Neal Stephenson

1995 Lois McMaster Bujold

1994 Kim Stanley Robinson

1993 Vernor Vinge (tie)

1993 Connie Willis (tie)

1992 Lois McMaster Bujold

1991 Lois McMaster Bujold

1990 Dan Simmons

1989 C. J. Cherryh

1988 David Brin

1987 Orson Scott Card

1986 Orson Scott Card

1985 William Gibson

1984 David Brin

1983 Isaac Asimov

1982 C. J. Cherryh

1981 Joan D. Vinge

1980 Arthur C. Clarke

1979 Vonda N. McIntyre

1978 Frederik Pohl

1977 Kate Wilhelm

1976 Joe Haldeman

1975 Ursula K. Le Guin

1974 Arthur C. Clarke

1973 Isaac Asimov

1972 Philip José Farmer

1971 Larry Niven

1970 Ursula K. Le Guin

1969 John Brunner

1968 Roger Zelazny

1967 Robert A. Heinlein

1966 Roger Zelazny (tie)

1966 Frank Herbert (tie)

1965 Fritz Leiber

1964 Clifford D. Simak

1963 Philip K. Dick

1962 Robert A. Heinlein

1961 Walter M. Miller, Jr.

1960 Robert A. Heinlein

1959 James Blish

1958 Fritz Leiber

1956 Robert A. Heinlein

1955 Mark Clifton and Frank Riley

1953 Alfred Bester

“Among Others” (F)

“Blackout/All Clear”

“The Windup Girl”

“The City & the City” (F)

“The Graveyard Book” (F)

“The Yiddish Policemen’s Union”

“Rainbows End”


“Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell” (F)

“Paladin of Souls” (F)


“American Gods” (F)

“Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire” (F)

“A Deepness in the Sky”

“To Say Nothing of the Dog”

“Forever Peace”

“Blue Mars”

“The Diamond Age”

“Mirror Dance”

“Green Mars”

“A Fire Upon the Deep”

“Doomsday Book”


“The Vor Game”



“The Uplift War”

“Speaker for the Dead”

“Ender’s Game”


“Startide Rising”

“Foundation’s Edge”

“Downbelow Station”

“The Snow Queen”

“The Fountains of Paradise”



“Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang”

“The Forever War”

“The Dispossessed”

“Rendezvous with Rama”

“The Gods Themselves”

“To Your Scattered Bodies Go”


“The Left Hand of Darkness”

“Stand on Zanzibar”

“Lord of Light”

“The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress”

“…And Call Me Conrad” (also known as This Immortal)


“The Wanderer”

“Here Gather the Stars” (also known as Way Station)

“The Man in the High Castle”

“Stranger in a Strange Land”

“A Canticle for Leibowitz”

“Starship Troopers”

“A Case of Conscience”

“The Big Time”

“Double Star”

“They’d Rather Be Right” (also known as The Forever Machine)

“The Demolished Man”

The 2013 Hugo Award winners will be announced at LoneStarCon 3, San Antonio, Texas, August 29-September 2, 2013.

* (F) is a fantasy novel and excluded from the Hugula Challenge.