Nebula Award Winners

The Nebula Award is given by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America yearly to the best science fiction and fantasy works in a variety of categories. Below are the yearly winners of the Best Novel category.

Now open the Hugula Challenge!
Review and win!


2012 Jo Walton

2011 Connie Willis

2010 Paolo Bacigalupi

2009 Ursula K. Le Guin

2008 Michael Chabon

2007 Jack McDevitt

2006 Joe Haldeman

2005 Lois McMaster Bujold

2004 Elizabeth Moon

2003 Neil Gaiman

2002 Catherine Asaro

2001 Greg Bear

2000 Octavia E. Butler

1999 Joe Haldeman

1998 Vonda N. McIntyre

1997 Nicola Griffith

1996 Robert J. Sawyer

1995 Greg Bear

1994 Kim Stanley Robinson

1993 Connie Willis

1992 Michael Swanwick

1991 Ursula K. Le Guin

1990 Elizabeth Ann Scarborough

1989 Lois McMaster Bujold

1988 Pat Murphy

1987 Orson Scott Card

1986 Orson Scott Card

1985 William Gibson

1984 David Brin

1983 Michael Bishop

1982 Gene Wolfe

1981 Gregory Benford

1980 Arthur C. Clarke

1979 Vonda N. McIntyre

1978 Frederik Pohl

1977 Frederik Pohl

1976 Joe Haldeman

1975 Ursula K. Le Guin

1974 Arthur C. Clarke

1973 Isaac Asimov

1972 Robert Silverberg

1971 Larry Niven

1970 Ursula K. Le Guin

1969 Alexei Panshin

1968 Samuel R. Delany

1967 Samuel R. Delany (tied)

1967 Daniel Keyes (tied)

1966 Frank Herbert

“Among Others” (F)

“Blackout/All Clear”

“The Windup Girl”

“Powers” (F)

“The Yiddish Policemen’s Union”



“Paladin of Souls” (F)

“The Speed of Dark”

“American Gods” (F)

“The Quantum Rose”

“Darwin’s Radio”

“Parable of the Talents”

“Forever Peace”

“The Moon and the Sun” (F)

“Slow River”

“The Terminal Experiment”

“Moving Mars”

“Red Mars”

“Doomsday Book”

“Stations of the Tide”

“Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea” (F)

“The Healer’s War”

“Falling Free”

“The Falling Woman” (F)

“Speaker for the Dead”

“Ender’s Game”


“Startide Rising”

“No Enemy But Time”

“The Claw of the Conciliator” (F)


“The Fountains of Paradise”



“Man Plus”

“The Forever War”

“The Dispossessed”

“Rendezvous with Rama”

“The Gods Themselves”

“A Time of Changes”


“The Left Hand of Darkness”

“Rite of Passage”

“The Einstein Intersection”


“Flowers for Algernon”


* (F) is a fantasy novel and excluded from the Hugula Challenge.